FR / EN
News
You are here : Home / Pentecost 2020
29/05/2020

Pentecost 2020

Prepared by the Delegation of G.B.I.

They were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak foreign languages as the Spirit gave them the gift of speech. Acts 2:4

Our body, dwelling of the Holy Spirit, allows us to go out and meet our sisters and brothers in humanity and all of Creation. RL 34

Send forth your Spirit, O Lord, and renew the face of the earth. Psalm 104

All joined in continuous prayer, together with several women, including Mary the Mother of Jesus. Acts 1: 14 Mary joined the disciples in the Upper room in praying for the coming of the Holy Spirit and thus made possible the missionary outburst that took place at Pentecost. Mary is a constant presence throughout the life of Jesus and in the Upper room she was a consoling presence to the fearful and anxious disciples whose understanding of the coming of the Holy Spirit was limited. At the Annunciation the angel Gabriel told Mary ‘The Holy Spirit will come upon you’ and Mary from then on ‘pondered these words in her heart’ and thus was able to share her experience with the disciples in continuous prayer.

 

Congrégation des Filles de la Sagesse

She joined the waiting disciples in praying for the coming of the Spirit and thus made possible the transformation which took place at Pentecost. Jesus had promised the coming of the Sprit and had told them to wait but they were still confused. The growth of hope lay in the prayerful waiting with Mary and the other women.

Wait for the Spirit
Wait…
Without expectation
Which might focus
Attention too narrowly,
So that we miss the coming.
Wait…
With expectancy , alert,
Hearts, minds, hands, ears
Open to receive the gift.
Ann Lewin

In the stillness open your heart to welcome the gift of the Spirit

Send forth your Spirit, O Lord, and renew the face of the earth. Psalm 104

On Easter evening, Jesus appeared to the disciples and breathed on them his Spirit; on the morning of Pentecost, while the disciples were praying, the outpouring of the Spirit occurred in a resounding way like the noise of a strong wind and tongues as of fire. These three symbols of breath, wind and fire are significant in our understanding of Pentecost both for the disciples present and for ourselves as transformation takes place and the ‘face of the earth is renewed’.

The disciples would have known from Scripture that fire was a sign of God’s presence: ever since the time that Moses heard God speaking from the middle of the burning bush, flame had carried that symbolism. The words ‘breath’ or ‘wind’ in Hebrew also meant a ‘spirit’ that renewed and gave life and energy to carry out God’s will. The Spirit of God transformed the fearful disciples into courageous witnesses of the Good News. The Spirit’s fire renews the face of the earth and also sets us free to be constantly renewed.

Someday, after mastering the winds, the waves,
the tides and gravity, we shall harness for God
the energies of love, and then,
for a second time in the history of the world,
we will have discovered fire.
Teilhard de Chardin

The effect of Pentecost was for the apostles, as Jesus had requested, to ‘Go, and make disciples of all nations; baptising them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit’. (Luke 28:19-20) No-one was to be excluded.

What does this mean for me/us today especially in the light of the Acts of the Chapter and the call to Love without Borders?

The world at this present time of sickness and uncertainty needs the courage, faith, love and perseverance of Christ’s followers. Reflecting on the fruits of the Spirit of love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, is there any particular gift of the Spirit you might pray for which will bring a message of hope and healing to many by your witness?

With the Holy Spirit, Mary is always present in the midst of suffering people. EG 284

All joined in continuous prayer, together with several women, including Mary the Mother of Jesus. Acts 1: 14

In Christ you too are being built as a dwelling place where God lives in the Spirit. Ephesians 2:22

Rooted in prayer while awaiting the coming of the Spirit the lives of the apostles were transfigured by the outpouring of the Spirit and they set out carrying the flame of the Spirit wherever they went. The Spirit however works in various ways as we shall see from Cardinal Francis Xavier Van Thuan who was held as a solitary prisoner in Vietnam for 13 years.

Jesus proclaimed that he had come to bring fire to the earth. By continuing his mission, I keep alive the flame of Pentecost that I received from Christ Jesus. I want to traverse the entire world in order to transmit the flame of Christ to others. The flame I bear is a love that renews all things. To feed this fire I must pour the oil of my daily prayer into others. I will prepare their torches so that the Holy Spirit will set them ablaze, dispelling their darkness and renewing the face of the earth.

In his solitude as a prisoner the indwelling of the Holy Spirit freed him to traverse the world by prayer and so continue his mission.

Marie Louise: The Oratory of the Heart
In her later years in St Laurent Marie Louise became less physically active and sought the solitude and prayer time that she had always longed for in her life . She frequently invited the Sisters to pray with her ‘Let us recite the Veni Creator together to ask the Holy Spirit to open our hearts.’ Thus the Holy Spirit became the dwelling place or Oratory of her Heart meaning that she lived a life of constant prayer rooted in the depths of her heart. She lived the fruits of the Spirit in her daily contact with others through her simplicity, gentleness, obedience and faithfulness, ‘…doing them for love and with love’.

Let Marie Louise speak to your open heart now,

Listen to the voice of Jesus Christ. Let him speak to you in the depths of your heart. 

Marie-Louise Trichet L. 24

Congrégation des Filles de la Sagesse

Drawing of Claudette Danis FDLS

 

 

Keywords :

Function

FR / EN
Actualités
Vous êtes ici : Accueil / Pentecôte 2020
29/05/2020

Pentecôte 2020

Préparée par la Délégation de G.B.I.

Tous furent remplis de l’Esprit Saint et commencèrent à parler en d’autres langues selon que l’Esprit leur donnait de s’exprimer.
Actes 2,4

Notre corps, temple de l’Esprit Saint. Nous permet d’aller à la rencontre de nos frères et sœurs en humanité et de toute la Création.
RV 34

Tous, d’un même Cœur, étaient assidus à la prière avec quelques femmes dont Marie, mère de Jésus et avec ses frères.
Actes 1, 14

Marie était en prière dans la chambre haute, attendant la venue de l’Esprit Saint, et ainsi rendant possible l’explosion missionnaire de la Pentecôte. Marie était une présence constante dans la vie de Jésus et dans la chambre haute, elle était une présence consolante pour les disciples anxieux et effrayés, dont la compréhension de la venue de l’Esprit Saint était limitée. À l’Annonciation, l’ange Gabriel avait dit à Marie, « Le Saint Esprit viendra sur toi…. » et dès lors, Marie a médité ces paroles dans son cœur. Elle a donc pu partager cette expérience avec les disciples dans la prière continue.

Congrégation des Filles de la Sagesse

Elle s’est jointe aux disciples dans la prière en attente de la venue de l’Esprit contribuant ainsi à la transformation qui eut lieu à la Pentecôte. Jésus avait promis la venue de l’Esprit et leur avait dit d’attendre mais ceux-ci étaient encore confus. L’attente priante avec Marie et les autres femmes faisait croître leur espérance.

Attendez l’Esprit
Attendez…
Attendez librement,
Sans attente
Ni fixation trop étroite
Risquant de rater la venue
Attendez…
Dans l’espérance, en éveil,
Cœurs, esprits, mains, oreilles
Ouverts à recevoir le don.
Ann Lewin (Traduction libre)

 Dans le silence, ouvrons nos cœurs pour accueillir le don de l’Esprit.

Ô Seigneur, envoie ton Esprit, qui renouvelle la face de la terre. Psaume 104

Le soir de Pâques, Jésus est apparu aux apôtres et leur a insufflé son Esprit. Au matin de la Pentecôte, pendant que les disciples priaient, l’effusion de l’Esprit se produisit d’une manière retentissante comme le bruit d’un violent coup de vent et des langues comme du feu. Ces trois symboles du souffle, du vent et du feu sont importants pour notre compréhension de la Pentecôte, à la fois pour les disciples présents et pour nous-mêmes, à mesure que la transformation a lieu et que la face de la terre se renouvelle.

Les disciples devaient savoir à partir des Écritures que le feu était un signe de la présence de Dieu. Depuis le moment où Moïse a entendu Dieu parler du milieu du buisson ardent, la flamme était le symbole de cette présence. Les mots « souffle » et « vent » en Hébreu voulait aussi dire « l’Esprit » qui renouvelle et donne vie et énergie pour réaliser la volonté de Dieu. L’Esprit de Dieu a transformé les disciples effrayés en témoins courageux de la Bonne Nouvelle. Le feu de l’Esprit renouvelle la face de la terre et nous rend également libres d’être constamment renouvelés.

Un jour, après avoir maîtrisé les vagues,
les marées et la gravité, nous exploiterons pour Dieu
les énergies de l’amour, puis, pour une deuxième fois
dans l’histoire du monde
Nous découvrirons le feu.
Teilhard de Chardin (Traduction libre)

Comme Jésus l’avait demandé, l’effet de la Pentecôte sur les apôtres fut d’aller de toutes les nations faire des disciples, les baptisant au nom du Père, du Fils et du Saint Esprit. (Luc 28, 19-20) Personne n’était exclu.

Qu’est-ce-que cela veut dire pour moi / et pour nous aujourd’hui, à la lumière des Actes des Apôtres, l’appel à Aimer sans frontières ?

En ce temps de maladie et d’incertitude, le monde a besoin du courage, de la foi, de l’amour et de la persévérance des disciples du Christ. En réfléchissant aux fruits de l’Esprit d’amour, de joie, de patience, de bonté, de fidélité, de douceur et de maîtrise de soi, existe-t-il un don spécifique de l’Esprit que vous désirez demander, un don qui apportera un message d’espoir et de guérison à beaucoup par votre témoignage?

Avec l’Esprit Saint Marie est toujours présente au milieu du peuple qui souffre. EG 284

En Christ, vous êtes intégrés à la construction pour devenir une demeure de Dieu, dans l’Esprit. Ephésiens 2, 22

Enracinés dans la prière en attendant la venue de l’Esprit Saint, les vies des apôtres furent transfigurées par l’effusion de l’Esprit et ils se sont mis à transporter la flamme de l’Esprit partout où ils allaient. Cependant, l’Esprit choisit différentes voies comme dans la vie du Cardinal François Xavier Van Thuan qui fut détenu en cellule d’isolement au Vietnam pendant 13 ans.

Jésus a proclamé qu’il était venu apporter le feu sur la terre. En poursuivant sa mission, je garde vivante la flamme de la Pentecôte que j’ai reçue du Christ Jésus. Je veux parcourir le monde entier afin de transmettre la flamme du Christ aux autres. La flamme que je porte est un amour qui renouvelle toute chose. Pour nourrir ce feu je dois verser l’huile de ma prière quotidienne sur les autres. Je préparerai leurs flambeaux pour que l’Esprit Saint les enflamme, dissipant les ténèbres et renouvelant la face de la terre.

Dans son isolement comme prisonnier, l’Esprit Saint qui l’habite, le libère afin qu’il parcoure le monde par la prière et continue sa mission.

Marie-Louise: L’oratoire du cœur
Dans ses dernières années à St-Laurent, Marie-Louise est devenue physiquement moins active et a cherché les temps de solitude et de prières qu’elle avait tant désirés toute sa vie. Elle invitait souvent les Sœurs à prier avec elle, « Récitons ensemble le Veni Creator pour demander à l’Esprit Saint d’ouvrir nos cœurs. » Ainsi, l’Esprit Saint est devenu le lieu d’habitation ou l’oratoire de son cœur donc, elle a vécu une vie de prière profondément enracinée dans l’intime de son cœur. Elle a expérimenté les fruits de l’Esprit dans son contact quotidien avec les autres dans la simplicité, la bonté, l’obéissance et la fidélité, « agissant par amour et avec amour. ».

Laissons Marie-Louise nous parler maintenant

Écoutez la voix de Jésus-Christ et ce qu’Il dit au fond de votre cœur.

Marie-Louise Trichet L. 24

Congrégation des Filles de la Sagesse

Dessin de Claudette Danis FDLS

 

 

Fonction