About the Daughters of Wisdom

You are here : Home / About the Daughters of Wisdom / Who we are

Who we are

The Daughters of Wisdom

The Congregation of the Daughters of Wisdom is an Institute of apostolic life founded by Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort on February 2nd 1703 in Poitiers, France. Marie-Louise Trichet, Sister Marie-Louise of Jesus, the first Daughter of Wisdom, is the Co-foundress. Pope Pius IX recognized the Congregation as being of pontifical right by papal decree on November 14th 1853.

The Congregation, according to its tradition, belongs to the Montfortian family, along with the Montfortian Missionaries of the Company of Mary and the Brothers of Saint Gabriel.

The Daughters of Wisdom, inspired by the Wisdom texts of the Bible and the writings of their Founders, live a spirituality that is inspired by the Love of Eternal and Incarnate Wisdom. Their specific mission is to seek, contemplate and reveal Wisdom at the heart of the world and in so doing, to denounce false wisdoms.

For more than three centuries, thousands of women have answered the call of Christ Wisdom to spread the charism of Montfort. Today, they serve on five continents, especially among the disadvantaged.

The sense of internationality allows the Congregation to welcome women from any culture who want to devote their life to God and commit themselves to serving the Gospel in the Church and in Society. The Congregation feels responsible for the unique gift of living a spirituality rooted in Biblical Wisdom and to witness to it.

The “Way of Wisdom”, Rule of Life of the Daughters of Wisdom, presents their Constitutions, inspired by Sacred Scripture and the spiritual legacy of the Founders. A Book of Modalities accompanies it.

May the meditation and implementation of this spiritual path bring its members new impetus, a source of vitality and hope.